Tayside & Angus Gaming Network
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Scuba's Shadow Warriors of Mordheim

Go down

Scuba's Shadow Warriors of Mordheim Empty Scuba's Shadow Warriors of Mordheim

Post by Admin Wed Dec 25, 2013 2:12 pm

Introduction

I've had many years experience playing Mordheim and joining in with communities who adapt and change the dated Rulebooks to suit newer styles and balancing.  One of the great issues and stigmas attached to Mordheim from my experience, was and still is, the Shadow Warriors.

Introduced to the game via a Town Cryer article, Shadow Warriors were immediately looked at as being far overpowered because of their Special Rules and Starting Characteristics.  I too thought the same back in the early 2000's when I used to play heavily with a group of friends.  My poor Human Warband just didn't seem to stack up against them.  The dawn of the World Wide Web forums did not help their cause either and they were soon thrown on to the "unofficial" pile pending a review.  Suffice to say, Games Workshop ceased it's venture into the World of Mordheim, which while sad as the game was fantastic, from a financial point, logical.  Therefore the poor Shadow Warriors of Mordheim would never again be classed as official...

However, years have gone by and I have grown older, and I would like to say wiser!  I've played enough games and done enough rule changes to realize there is FAR more to the game then just basic stats.  As the games progress, so do Warbands and one game can easily change the fate for the entire campaign.

Any time a new Campaign begins with a new group of players, it sadly seems logical that one must start by providing an argument or justification as to why you believe your chosen warband should be included.  With that philosophy, I thought I would start by making my claim before moving on to my actual Warband.

Case File: Shadow Warriors